Follow us on...
Home
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
Photo
- - - - -

making your own gel foods

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 jimmy chonga

jimmy chonga

Juvie Pleco

• Members
  • 555 posts
  • LocationToronto

Posted 24 April 2014 - 04:34 AM

greetings all, has anyone out there ever tried making their own gel foods? being that I'm a chef I have access to gelatin, pectin etc and was wondering since I also have access to alot of fish and veg trimmings has anyone ever tried making their own gel foods?

any advice/experience is appreciated, 

thanks

Mike

#2 jvision

jvision

Pleco Fry

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • LocationEdmonton, AB

Posted 26 April 2014 - 01:28 AM

If you do a search on PlanetCatfish, you'll find a few good recipes. 

Jason M.
125g: Tanganykans w. Syno. multipunctatus
75g: ABN Grow-out, Long-fin Cory. paleatus
35g: ABN Breeders, Cory. triliniatus, Cory aeneus
90g: Mbuna w. WC L349 Breeders
45g: L34 pair, P. changae breeders
35g: Hypancistrus angelicus
33g: Mbuna, ABN, L349 Grow-out

#3 cjerrom

cjerrom

Juvie Pleco

• Members
  • 509 posts
  • LocationCalgary, AB

Posted 26 April 2014 - 01:58 PM

Yes and it's quite fun to do. One thing I found is that a good blender is essential and I mean a blendtec or vitamix.
Secondly do not boil the veggies but they should be blanched or steamed to all them to be broken down in to fine particulate for a smooth consistency.