Follow us on...
Home
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
Photo
- - - - -

Hi from Barrie, ON!

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 MsGardeness

MsGardeness

Juvie Pleco

• Members
  • 256 posts

Posted 07 April 2010 - 10:48 PM

Okay I admit I'm new to Plecos and know nothing about them. But I do know I love the appearance of the Albino Longfin Bushy-nosed Plecos (is that ALF BN's?)! So I want to learn all I can about them and now I'm seeing others too before I jump in with both feet.

I have a 20g FW running since December '09 and it's doing fine with Guppies, 3 Angels, 1 CAE, 1 Peacock Gudgeon. I am working at getting a (second hand) 80g up and running soon - course I'll cycle it before any livestock go in.

Curiosity question to get myself started: what on earth are the L numbers all about? I've looked through the FAQ and saw the names in general but I must have missed the info on those L numbers. And where is a good place to get started reading and learning all about these awesome critters?

Anyway - HI to all!! :biggrin:

#2 Altum Nut

Altum Nut

Pleco Fry

• Members
  • 153 posts
  • LocationToronto, ON

Posted 08 April 2010 - 12:03 AM

Greetings and welcome on board MsGardenes,

Someone can correct me if I'm wrong....but the L# is strictly to identify a particular pleco. There are a number of indentified plecos species in one family eg....Ancistrus family.... but the L# narrows the particular pleco. and in many cases were starting to realize that more than one L# is the same fish.
As for information.....there are various pleco sites that Rich (CanadaPleco) has posted as links which can give you a great deal of info to get what you want for what you have to offer the plecos of your choice.
O and by the way......did I forget to mention you are entering a forum of addicted pleco nuts.